Loading Map....

Neo-Latino: Critical Mass

Date(s) - 09/16/2016 - 11/06/2016
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Monmouth Museum


NeoLatino_Flag Logo

Neo-Latino: Critical Mass

Invitational Exhibition Curated by Monica S. Camin
September 16 – November 6, 2016

Opening Reception: Friday, September 16th, 2016

Main Gallery Hours: Tuesday – Saturday: 10am-5pm; Friday: 10am-9pm; Sunday: 12pm-5pm.

When does a population reach a point of pivotal change? When does a group go from
being an element of a community to being a leading voice in its future? These are
questions examined in Neo-Latino: Critical Mass, a group art exhibition presented at the
Monmouth Museum from September 16 – November 6, 2016.

2016 is a pivotal year for the Latino/a voice, especially with this year’s’ monumental election. The works of art presented will delve into the importance of a collective but diverse visual dialogue around the cultural and socio-political Latino/a experience. Critical Mass will feature artists with roots in or ties to Argentina, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico, Portugal and Spain.

Neo-Latino is a collective of diverse artists collaborating to curate and create a space for
the Latino/a voice in the 21st century. The collective has its origins in New Jersey and it is
now a movement branching across the United States and beyond. The group has
produced events and exhibitions in California, Colorado, Massachusetts, New Jersey, and
New York. The growing population and diverse cultures in the United States exist in
constant flux and are moving toward a Latino-integrated/majority/infused future. The
Neo-Latinos collective believes that the presence and voice of Latinos/as in the arts is now
more critical and constant than ever.

The artists selected to exhibit their work are:

Luis Stephenberg Alers, Imna Arroyo, Josephine Barreiro, Hugo X. Bastidas,

Olga M. Bautista, Monica S. Camin, Angélica Muñoz Castaño, Christie Devereaux,

Ricardo Fonseca, Carlos Frias, Maria Cristina Jadick, Alexis Mendoza,

Elizabeth Jiménez Montelongo, Hugo Morales, Lisette Morel, Gabriel Navar,

Isabel Nazario, Julio Nazario, George Rivera, José Rodeiro, Catalina Santamaria,

Nicola Stewart, Sergio Villamizar, Raúl Villarreal.